Award winners recognised for their hard work

Award winners

The Department’s annual prize-giving ceremony is the one event in the year fully dedicated to acknowledging the best performing and hardest working students from the previous year. This year’s ceremony did exactly that when a handful of students were noted for winning multiple awards.  Chiefly among those students was Lewis Walsh, who was presented with an outstanding six awards, including the 2016 Dux of the Bachelor of Surveying. Other multiple award recipients included Liam Robinson, the 2016 Dux of the Bachelor of Science (Geographic Information Science), and Matt Jilley and Sin Lam Lei.

Other noteworthy winners were Cody Snabel, who was awarded the 2016 Dux of the Bachelor of Science (Mine and Engineering Surveying); Tammi Doyle, the best student in the Graduate Diploma in Geographic Information Science program; Aiden Price, the best student in the Master of Science (Geospatial Science); and Dr Khandu, who completed his Doctor of Philosophy during the year and was judged the best overall postgraduate student for the quality of his research.

The ceremony was also the opportunity to announce the 2017 scholarship winners for the year:

  • The McMullen Nolan Group Pty Ltd Surveying Scholarship 2017 – Riley Pilcher
  • The Reg Dowson Mine Surveying Scholarship 2017 – Andrew Bidmead
  • The Department of Spatial Sciences Honours Scholarship 2017 – Jeffrey Ball

The Department congratulates all award winners for their achievements and extends sincere gratitude to all our industry partners and sponsors for their generous gifts, donations and ongoing support given to the Department.

For a full listing of the 2017 Spatial Sciences Annual Prize-giving recipients view here.