Skip to main content

2016 Nanostructured Electromaterials for Energy Workshop

The Department of Chemical Engineering at Curtin University and the University of Queensland welcome you to the 2016 Nanostructured Electromaterials for Energy Workshop. A joint workshop aimed at promoting the exchange and advancement of research in energy conversion and storage technologies.

2016 Nanostructured Electromaterials for Energy

Electricity is the most convenient form of energy today. For the past one hundred years, electricity has been primarily produced by combustion of fossil fuels which has an intrinsically low conversion efficiency and emits carbon dioxide and other air pollutants.

Furthermore, carbon dioxide contributes to climate change.With increasing energy demand, depleting fossil fuel reserves, and growing concerns about the climate and environment, there is an urgent need to increase electricity generation efficiency and to develop renewable energy sources. Electrochemical energy storage and conversion technologies such as fuel cells, advanced Li-ion batteries, supercapacitors and electrolysis are the most promising technologies to address these issues.

Areas of focus

The purpose of the workshop is to:

  • share the latest research on electrochemistry materials for energy storage and conversion.
  • identify future research hot topics.
  • promote publication of electrochemical energy storage and conversion research by the Asia-Pacific Journal of Chemical Engineering (APJ).
Important information 
Dates18 - 19 January 2016
LocationCommon Ground, Building 104.101-102:FF, Bentley Campus, Curtin University
Registration Date:15 November 2015 (by email)
CostFree for staff from Chemical Engineering Department of Curtin University and University of Queensland and the first 15 HDR students from Curtin or University of Queensland. Student prices are $150.00 (dinner not included) and others are $350.00.

Invited speakers

Click on a speakers name to download full presentation

Keynote Speakers  
Professor John IrvineSt Andrews UniversityUK
Professor Hui-Ming ChengChinese Academy of SciencesChina
Professor Zongping ShaoCurtin UniversityAustralia
Professor Jian LiHuazhong University of Science and TechnologyChina
Professor Bilge YildizMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyUSA
Dr Patrick HowlettDeakin University Australia
Professor Shi-Zhang QiaoThe University of AdelaideAustralia
Professor Yusuke YamauchiNational Institute for Materials ScienceJapan
Professor Guntae KimUlsan National Institute of Science and TechnologyKorea
Dr Karl FögerXinnotec Pty LtdAustralia
Professor Qing-Feng LiTechnical University of DenmarkDenmark
Dr Francesco CiucciThe Hong Kong University of Science and TechnologyChina
Professor John ZhuThe University of QueenslandAustralia
Professor Lianzhou WangThe University of QueenslandAustralia
Dr Jian LiuCurtin UniversityAustralia
Flash Presentations  
Professor San Ping JiangCurtin UniversityAustralia
Dr Da-Wei WangUniversity of New South WalesAustralia
Dr Zhigang ChenThe University of QueenslandAustralia
Dr Thomas RuffordThe University of QueenslandAustralia

Technical Committee

Curtin University

  • Professor San Ping Jiang (Chair)
  • Professor Zongping Shao
  • Dr Hong Mei Yao
  • Dr Jian Liu
  • Dr Khaliq Ahmed

University of Queensland

  • Professor John Zhu (Co-Chair)
  • Professor Lianzhou Wang

Workshop Chair


This workshop is free for:

  • Staff from Chemical Engineering Department of Curtin University and University of Queensland.
  • The first 15 HDR students from Curtin or University of Queensland.

Students – A$150 (dinner not included)
Others  – A$350

Registration by email of intending participants is necessary before 30th November 2015.
All fees must be fully paid before commencement of the workshop.

Want more information?

Please contact the Department of Chemical Engineering

Telephone: +61 8 9266 3677

Email: or